About Us

Who we are

The Catholic Archdiocese of Sydney exists to serve the People of God in the city of Sydney, including the Eastern, Southern, inner-Western and South-Western suburbs and the suburbs of the lower-North Shore.

Sydney is a city of more than 4 million people; within this area are 4 dioceses.

The Archdiocese is bounded to the North by Broken Bay Diocese, to the West by Parramatta Diocese, and to the South by Wollongong Diocese.

Click here for a map of our parishes. (Requires Flash)

Currently there are some 593,300 Catholics in the Archdiocese, with a total population of 2,223,102. The Catholic population is 26.7% of the total. There are 137 parishes, in the pastoral care of around 240 diocesan priests. There are 516 priests in total, including religious priests, working within the Archdiocese, including those on lesser duties and retired priests. There are 1,051 religious sisters and 189 religious brothers and 3 permanent deacons.

Statistics are taken from the Official Directory of the Catholic Church in Australia 2014/2015.