About Us

Catholic Church in Sydney

The Catholic Archdiocese of Sydney exists to serve the People of God in the city of Sydney, including the Eastern, Southern, inner-Western and South-Western suburbs and the suburbs of the lower-North Shore. The boundaries of the Archdiocese generally follow Council boundaries (see below).

Boundaries of the Archdiocese of Sydney

Commencing at the junction of South Creek and Elizabeth Drive, then in a generally easterly direction by the boundaries of the City of Liverpool, Fairfield and Bankstown to the Duck River; then by the boundary of the Municipality of Auburn and the Parramatta River to Wharf Road; then by Wharf Road and Marsden Road following the boundary of the Municipality of Ryde to Terry Road and following the same boundary to Midson Road then north by Midson Road (both sides) to Chesterfield Road (both sides) to the northern railway line, then south by the railway line to the southern and western boundaries of Somerville Park to Terry's Creek and the Lane Cove River thence by the north-eastern boundary of the Municipality of Ryde, by the eastern and northern boundaries of the Municipalities of Lane Cove and North Sydney to Long Bay, Middle Harbour and Sydney Heads. From the junction of Northern Road and Greendale Road; thence by the southern side of Bringelly Road to South Creek. Continuing along Bringelly Road and Camden Valley Way at the junction of the two thence, along the same side to the Hume Highway, one side of the Hume Highway to the Cross Roads, one side of Glenfield Road and Canterbury Road to the southern railway line, thence by a line due east to George's River, one side of George's River to Oxford Road, one side of Oxford Road and Albert Road and its extension east to Williams Creek, then by Williams Creek upstream to a point on the creek due east of Campbelltown Railway Station, thence by a straight line to Eckersley Trigonometrical Station, thence by a straight line to the junction of the Illawarra railway and the southern boundary of National Park, thence by the southern boundary of National Park generally easterly to the Pacific Ocean.

Local Government areas within the Archdiocese of Sydney

  1. Ashfield Municipality - www.ashfield.nsw.gov.au
  2. Auburn Council - www.auburn.nsw.gov.au
  3. Bankstown City Council www.bankstowncity.nsw.gov.au
  4. Botany Bay City Council - www.botanybay.nsw.gov.au
  5. Burwood Council - www.burwood.nsw.gov.au
  6. Canada Bay City Council - www.canadabay.nsw.gov.au
  7. Canterbury City Council - www.canterbury.nsw.gov.au
  8. City of Sydney Council - www.cityofsydney.nsw.gov.au
  9. Fairfield City Council - www.fairfieldcity.nsw.gov.au  
  10. Holroyd City Council - www.holroyd.nsw.gov.au  
  11. Hunters Hill, Municipality of - www.huntershill.nsw.gov.au
  12. Hurstville City Council - www.hurstville.nsw.gov.au
  13. Kogarah Municipal Council - www.kogarah.nsw.gov.au
  14. Lane Cove Council - www.lanecove.nsw.gov.au      
  15. Leichhardt Municipal Council - www.leichhardt.nsw.gov.au
  16. Liverpool City Council - www.liverpool.nsw.gov.au
  17. Marrickville Council - www.marrickville.nsw.gov.au
  18. Mosman Municipal Council - www.mosman.nsw.gov.au
  19. North Sydney Council - www.northsydney.nsw.gov.au
  20. Randwick City Council - www.randwick.nsw.gov.au
  21. Rockdale City Council - www.rockdale.nsw.gov.au
  22. Ryde City Council - www.ryde.nsw.gov.au
  23. South Sydney City Council - www.sscc.nsw.gov.au
  24. Strathfield Municipal Council - www.strathfield.nsw.gov.au
  25. Sutherland Shire Council - www.sutherland.nsw.gov.au
  26. Waverley Council - www.waverley.nsw.gov.au
  27. Woollahra Municipal Council - www.woollahra.nsw.gov.au